The Mummy Movies In Order

The Mummy movies in order
Image Credit:

If you’re a fan of horror movies, the Mummy movies in order should definitely be on your must-see list this year. Since 2017 marks the start of a fresh reboot of this classic franchise. The Mummy (2017) Starring Tom Cruise given the best role in this movie and it was released in theaters on June 9th. This film signals the start of a full reboot of the franchise which will total at least two new films over the coming years. Since its beginning in 1932, this franchise has given us a total of 14 movies, multiple video game adaptations, and even an entire spin-off series named Scorpion King.

The films tell the story of the adventurer, Rick O’Connell, as he travels to Hamunaptra, the town of the Dead, with a librarian and her older brother, where they accidentally awaken Imhotep, a cursed high priest from the reign of the Pharaoh Seti I of 1290 B.C. And this story begins with The Mummy movies in order. Also a spin-off series, The Scorpion King was produced to keep fans satisfied before the reboot of the original series in 2017. The Scorpion King was distributed by Universal Pictures and produced a total of four through 2015.

All The Mummy Movies In Order By Their Release Date

If you’re just starting out on these films, I would watch The Mummy movies in order by their release date. But The Mummy franchise has been three separate productions of the The Mummy movies, you would first have to pick out which generation you want to watch.

Universal Monsters Series (1932-1955)

1.) The Mummy (1932)

2.) The Mummy’s Hand (1940)

3.) The Mummy’s Tomb (1942)

4.) The Mummy’s Ghost (1944)

5.) The Mummy’s Curse (1944)

6.) Abbott and Costello Meet the Mummy (1955)

Hammer Series (1959-1971)

1.) The Mummy (1959)

2.) The Curse of the Mummy’s Tomb (1964)

3.) The Mummy’s Shroud (1966)

4.) Blood from the Mummy’s Tomb (1967)

Stephen Sommers Series (1999-2008)

1.) The Mummy (1999)

2.) The Mummy Returns (2001)

3.) The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor (2008)

4.) The Scorpion King Spin-off Series (2002-2018)

1.) The Scorpion King (2002)
2.) The Scorpion King 2: Rise of a Warrior (2008)
3.) The Scorpion King 3: Battle for Redemption (2012)
4.) The Scorpion King 4: Quest for Power (2015)
5.) The Scorpion King 5: Book of Souls (2018)

Dark Universe

1.) The Mummy (2017)

If you’re interested in watching The Mummy movies in order, you would first have to pick out which productions you want to watch. Personally, I would first view the most viewed series myself. I’m a fan of the Stephen Sommers series, but other people will tell you other productions are better. Whatever, If you’re a fan of watching things in chronological order, then you should watch Stephen Sommer’s The Scorpion King before the main series. These movies happen 5,000 years before the start of the primary series, and additional context as to how Mathayus’ rose to power.

The Mummy was a movie series Despite the obvious financial success, the movies were never really highly rated by critics or even fans. The first movie within the reboot trilogy in 1999 was received reasonably well by critics and fans. On Rotten Tomatoes, it is a modest 61% critic rating and a 75% fan rating. Similar, the second film was modest by 47% critics and 63% fans. However, by the end of the trilogy critics were rating it as low as 12% while fans weren’t too thrilled either, ranking in at 30%. None of the films received any notable awards. However, all three films combined grossed just shy of a half-billion dollars at the box office.

Whatever you’re a lover of horror movies, The Mummy movie series has something for you. This timeless classic has been entertaining cinema lovers for nearly a century. With every new iteration comes a fresh perspective and an exciting storyline. For those of us who love good special effects and high-quality CGI, the latest reboot of this trilogy is for certain to be the only one yet!